February 2, 2018

3M awards stethoscopes to nursing students

Fourteen first-year nursing students at Kishwaukee College were the recipients of prestigious Littmann stethoscopes from the Community Support Group at 3M. Donna Engh, Jonathan Klaczek and Stephanie Whaley from the 3M Community Support Group were on campus on January 30 to award the stethoscopes to the students.

The nursing students who received Littmann stethoscopes are: Cassandra Delaurie, DeKalb; Ekaterina Gehringer, Kingston; DeKalb; Elaxus Haas, Cortland; Aseneth Herrera, Rochelle; Alexandria Isham, DeKalb; Jamie Jensen, DeKalb; Hannah Lovett, DeKalb; Alexandra Magana, Rochelle; Janetta Martina, Malta; Hayleigh Meinen, DeKalb; Sally Mullis, DeKalb; Felicia Napolitano, Sycamore; Jasmyn Patterson, Rochelle; and Miranda Perri, Sycamore.

The Community Support Group is the local arm of 3M that provides local charitable assistance and support. Although the national 3M Corporation provides recognizable support in a variety of ways, including scholarships to Kishwaukee College and other educational institutions across the country, the Community Support Group is designed to be community-specific by volunteering, assisting, and donating in ways that are unique to the local community.

Since 2010, the 3M Community Support Group in DeKalb has been awarding Littman stethoscopes to deserving Kishwaukee College nursing students each semester. The Littmann Stethoscope is manufactured by 3M and is considered the “Cadillac” of stethoscopes. 

For more information on Kishwaukee College, visit www.kish.edu; for more information on the 3M Corporation, visit www.3m.com.

Pictured on campus with the stethoscopes are: front row, L to R,  Cassandra Delaurie, DeKalb; Alexandra Magana, Rochelle; Miranda Perri, Sycamore; Aseneth Herrera, Rochelle; Hannah Lovett, DeKalb; and Hayleigh Meinen, DeKalb; middle row, L to R, Donna Engh, 3M Community Support Group; Ekaterina Gehringer, Kingston; Janetta Martina, Malta; Alexandria Isham, DeKalb; and Felicia Napolitano, Sycamore; back row, L to R, Jasmyn Patterson, Rochelle; Sally Mullis, DeKalb; Elaxus Haas, Cortland; Jamie Jensen, DeKalb; Jonathan Klaczek, 3M Community Support Group; Stephanie Whaley, 3M Community Support Group; and Pat Mitchell, Assistant Professor of Nursing.