October 30, 2019

Kishwaukee College Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society inducts new members

The Alpha Rho Eta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) welcomed 32 new members this fall at Kishwaukee College. The new members were inducted during a candle-lighting ceremony held in Jenkins Auditorium at the College on October 22.

PTK is the largest honor society in higher education with more than 3.5 million members worldwide. The society recognizes academic achievement of community college students and provides them with opportunities to grow as scholars and leaders. To be eligible, students must complete a minimum of 12 credit hours of coursework towards an associate degree and earn a 3.5 GPA or higher. Students must maintain a high academic standing throughout their enrollment at the College. Membership is by invitation only. 

The following Kish students were welcomed to PTK during the Fall 2019 ceremony:

Chana: Mallory Ponto
Cortland: Lisa Guzinski
DeKalb: Adriana Aumann-Weyenberg, Charcolette Chatue Kamga Mamguim, Olivia Clausen, Taylor Dunaway, Jessica Holuj, Dakota Montavon, Dawn Nelson, Rebekah Reynolds, Katherine Sherman, Olasubomi Solomon, Melissa Stone and Julee Wolke
Genoa: Stephanee Dries
Paw Paw: Anthony Castaldo
Rochelle: Lillian Fulgencio, Jacob Helfrick, Mandi Lamb, Jakob Quincer and Jake Rodriguez
Sycamore: Megan Antos, Carolyn Blanken, Michael Burdi, Kerina Evenson, Abigail Lewis, Samuel Misch, Meghan Pinter and Aubrey Villarreal
Waterman: Madison Gilbreth
Oregon: Addison Kitzmiller and Sophie West

The Fall 2019 inductees and their guests were welcomed to the College by Dr. Laurie Borowicz, president of Kish. Adjunct instructor Eric Schroeder delivered a musical performance. The ceremony was presided over by the current officers of the Alpha Rho Eta chapter: Gwendolyn Papke, president; Kayla Taft, vice president; Miriam Nuñez, hallmark officer; Carley Ackland, public relations officer; and Katelyn Ackland, recording officer.

For more information, contact chapter adviser and associate professor of modern languages Tim Anderson at tanderson@kish.edu or 815-825-9484.

Photo Caption: The Alpha Rho Eta chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at Kishwaukee College held their fall induction ceremony on October 22 on campus. Pictured: The newest members of PTK and current officers, front row L to R Lillian Fulgencio, Adriana Aumann-Weyenberg, Aubrey Villarreal, Stephanee Dries, Dawn Nelson; middle row L to R Mallory Ponto, Olasubomi Solomon, Dakota Montavon, Jacob Helfrick; and back row L to R Miriam Nuñez, Kayla Taft, Gwendolyn Papke, Carley Ackland, and Katelyn Ackland.