October 23, 2015

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society inducts new members

The Alpha Rho Eta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society welcomed new members this fall at Kishwaukee College. The new members were inducted during a candle-lighting ceremony held in the College’s Jenkins Auditorium on October 14. The ceremony was presided over by the current officers of the Alpha Rho Eta chapter: Ian Kidd, Co-President; Argyle O’Leary, Co-President; Hailey Hopkins, Recording Officer; Chelsea Erickson, Public Relations Officer; and Allison Kozinski, Hallmark Officer. The Kishwaukee College chapter faculty advisors are Laura Chiavini and Allison Von Ende.

During the ceremony, inductees and their families and friends enjoyed a guitar performance by Tim Lockman. The Key Note Speaker was Chase Budziak, Communications instructor and Director of the Speech and Debate Team at Kishwaukee College.

After the ceremony was completed, inductees, families and friends enjoyed light refreshments in the Kishwaukee College Conference Center Dining Room.

Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, is the largest honor society in higher education. Founded in 1918, there are now 1,285 Phi Theta Kappa chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, and other countries around the world. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually. The society offers opportunities for scholarships, intellectual enrichment, and personal development through programs based on the society’s hallmarks of scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship.

To be eligible for membership, a student must complete a minimum of twelve hours of college level course work and earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on  4.0 scale. Students must maintain a high academic standing throughout their enrollment in the two-year college. 

The following Kishwaukee College students were honored with membership in this prestigious organization for Fall 2015:

DeKalb: Janini Avalos, Casey Lothson, Brisa Martinez, Tia McMaster, Steven Morlan, Cheyenne Remington

Genoa: Daniel Hansen

Hampshire: Brian Stuehler

Maywood: Jada Coleman

Oregon: Bayley Kirchner

Rochelle: Alejandra Herrera, Morgan Miller, Jocelyn Ortiz

Steward: Abigail Gould

Sycamore: Debra Byrd, Myrna Guerrero, Damon Massier, Madison Schap, Kortne Shott, Michelle Turcios, and Keara Winters.