March 31, 2017

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society inducts new members

The Alpha Rho Eta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society welcomed 22 new members this spring at Kishwaukee College. The new members were inducted during a candle-lighting ceremony held in Jenkins Auditorium at the College on March 28.

The ceremony was presided over by the current officers of the Alpha Rho Eta chapter: Gabbie Cultra, Earlville, President; Justin Otte, Genoa, Vice-President; Andrew Kozinski, DeKalb, Recording Officer; Jair Mahali Granados Ramirez, Oregon, Public Relations Officer; and Jashawna Robinson, DeKalb, Hallmark Officer. The Kishwaukee College chapter faculty advisor is Allison von Ende.

During the ceremony, inductees and their families and friends were welcomed to the College by Dr. Laurie Borowicz, President of Kishwaukee College. Attendees enjoyed a guitar performance by Eric Schroeder, Music instructor at the College. The key note speaker was Laura Chiavini, Creative Communications Specialist and former Faculty Advisor for the Alpha Rho Eta chapter at Kishwaukee College.

After the ceremony, inductees, families and friends enjoyed light refreshments in the Kishwaukee College Conference Center Dining Room.

Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, is the largest honor society in higher education. Founded in 1918, there are now 1,285 Phi Theta Kappa chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, and other countries around the world. More than 2.5 million students have been inducted since its founding, with approximately 135,000 students inducted annually. The society offers opportunities for scholarships, intellectual enrichment, and personal development through programs based on the society’s hallmarks of scholarship, leadership, service, and fellowship.

To be eligible for membership, a student must complete a minimum of twelve hours of college level course work and earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on 4.0 scale. Students must maintain a high academic standing throughout their enrollment in the two-year college. 

The following Kishwaukee College students were honored with membership in this prestigious organization for Spring 2017:

Capron: Charles Johnson;

Cortland: Kelsey Cooper;

Creston: Alicia Davis;

DeKalb: Grecia Avalos, Mathew Bowen, Alexandyr Card, Charles Foner, Anna Hartnett, Keegan Johnson-Smith, Obeidurrahman Kirmani, Philip Oliver, and Crystal Ritchey;

Kingston: James Haberstich;

Rochelle: Megan Ackland, Veronica Avolio, Abigail Carlson, Ty Orlikowski, and Cynthia Sweger;

Sycamore: Rebekah Lewis, Tara Ozehowski, Kaitlin Scarpa, and Tanya Staggs.